Wanderings

Anything you dream is fiction,
and anything you accomplish is science,
the whole history of mankind is nothing but science fiction.
- Ray Bradbury
April 1st, 2011

BoingBoing Alternatives

All right! They got me. The BoingBoing pay wall was an April Fool’s joke! I am such a tool.

I’ve been reading BoingBoing.net for several years. It is a site that gets interesting things from the internet and links to them. They do not provide anything original, except a knack for finding links that people want to click. There are dozen’s of other sites that do as well.
Today they announced that they are going on a subscription basis. You’ll have to pay for BoingBoing. I think not, and and I deleted the bookmark.

Other sites are going to a pay for subscription version. I’ll miss the NY Times. Other sites are dead. I miss Delicious. I do have good alternatives, In fact I usually see the stuff on other sites before BoingBoing gets it.

Here’s what I look at in the morning. Some of these reflect my personal and somewhat narrow interests, but many times I’ll read an article on one of these websites and see a day or two later on BoingBoing. (Hint: most of these have rss feeds so use Google Reader or other aggregator to get all of these at once.

Digg: http://digg.com/
TechDirt: http://www.techdirt.com/
Defense Tech http://defensetech.org/
Cool Tools http://kk.org/cooltools/index.php
SlashDot http://slashdot.org/
Making Light http://nielsenhayden.com/makinglight/
Rudy Rucker’s Blog http://www.rudyrucker.com/blog/
Neil Gaiman’s Blog http://journal.neilgaiman.com/
Uncertainty Principles http://scienceblogs.com/principles/
The Technium http://www.kk.org/thetechnium/
Yahoo Science News http://news.yahoo.com/science/space-astronomy
Fred Pohl’s Blog http://www.thewaythefutureblogs.com/
Shadow Script http://scriptshadow.blogspot.com/
Information is Beautiful http://www.informationisbeautiful.net/
Letters of Note http://www.lettersofnote.com/
Hacker News http://news.ycombinator.com/
Hacker News Daily http://www.daemonology.net/hn-daily/
This day in Jazz http://jazzagemusic.blogspot.com/
Google News Spotlight http://news.google.com/news/section?pz=1&cf=all&ned=us&topic=ir&ict=ln
Nadie Se Conoce (photography) http://nadieseconoce.blogspot.com/
Biblio Odyssey http://bibliodyssey.blogspot.com/
Wikipedia Random Link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:Random






Leave a Reply